Rejoicing in Disobedience

For God has shut up all in disobedience so that He may show mercy to all.

Romans 11:32

I’ve been pondering this idea that God has “shut up all” to disobedience. Specifically, I’ve been thinking about this in relation to my children. I don’t know about other parents, but I often am frustrated with the boys disobedience. It’s not that I expect them to be perfect, but I tire of dealing with the disobedience.

Truly, who enjoys correcting behavior and punishing sin? I certainly don’t enjoy it! When I’m not just being too lazy to deal with the situation at hand, often, it is a very inconvenient time or place or both! But again, the Lord has reminded me that these times offer great opportunity!

Spending time with Romans 11 has reminded me that there is a joyous reason for disobedience — God’s mercy! I’ve been reminded that every occasion of disobedience is an opportunity for God to show His mercy to the hearts of the boys! Our pastor reminded us this morning that taking the Lord’s Supper isn’t just a somber occasion. Sure, we examine our hearts and there is sorrow for our sin, yet we greatly rejoice in His forgiveness! Similarly, as a parent, I can rejoice that God grants so many opportunities to our boys and to us for Him to show His mercy!

We have used disobedience as occasion to remind the boys of the Gospel. But now it is also an occasion to rejoice!

Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice!

Philippians 4:4 (Emphasis added)

Leave a Reply

