Heaven in Her Arms: Why God Chose Mary to Raise His Son and What it Means for You

Wow! I haven’t written a blog since March! During the busy three months, I have had thoughts of things to write about, but time has been devoted to many other things. Though I have a topic I’d like to spend time pondering through writing, instead I’m going to publish a long overdue book review. Through Booksneeze I received a copy of Heaven in Her Arms: Why God Chose Mary to Raise His Son and What it Means for You for the purpose of giving a review, so here it is!

Heaven in Her Arms: Why God Chose Mary and What it Means for You

by Catherine Hickem

I decided to read this book because I agreed with one point the author had to make about the woman called to be the mother of Jesus. In the prologue Hickem notes how protestants have worked so hard to not worship the virgin woman chosen by God to bear His Son that we rarely reflect upon her as a biblical female role model. Often women look at Sarah’s faith, Rahab’s boldness, Esther’s bravery, and more. And I wouldn’t say that Mary gets ignored. I can think of many great sermons or lessons taught based on her response to the angel and the magnificat. Mary herself wouldn’t have wanted herself elevated next to God. She knew and honored the Lord and did not exalt herself, but certainly we can learn from her. So I read this book in hope that this would be a biblical look into her life that would encourage me as a mom.

Each chapter begins with a Scripture from the life of Mary then goes on to talk about an aspect of Mary’s life demonstrated by the Scripture. The chapters then conclude with earthly wisdom and experience related to the trait shown by Mary.

The book was rather disappointing to me. Overall, I appreciated the insight into Mary’s life, but occasionally I felt that the author attempted to stretch her big idea into the Scripture given. The ideas themselves weren’t antibiblical, they just took a lot of connections to make sense with the Scripture given. But what really disappointed me was that the earthly wisdom and experience seemed to override the biblical insight. I tired of reading the authors thoughts and beliefs based on her experience. There were good encouragements to walk by faith, humbly, boldly, truthfully, and more, but when I come to a book subtitled “Why God” did something, then I expect to read more about God and less about the author and life experience. I couldn’t in good conscience recommend this book. It is well written. It’s engaging, easy to read, and challenges how we walk by faith, but I expected more Bible and more God.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

