Would Removing all Guns from Earth Make Us More or Less Safe?

for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,

Romans 3:23

For the creation was subjected to futility, not willingly, but because of him who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself will be set free from its bondage to corruption and obtain the freedom of the glory of the children of God. For we know that the whole creation has been groaning together in the pains of childbirth until now. And not only the creation, but we ourselves, who have the first fruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for adoption as sons, the redemption of our bodies.

Romans 8:22-23

True! God can repair them!

The title is the daily writing prompt from WordPress. I don’t often respond to these, but something about the way this was worded triggered a necessary response from me.

Removing all the guns from earth wouldn’t change how “safe” we are. Guns are just things. They are inanimate. They have no ability to control their actions. Just like the clothes I wear, the table I eat meals on, and the car I drive. These objects are controlled by the human using them. If my clothes are taken away, I’ll find something else to cover myself with. If my


table were taken away, I would find something else to eat on. If my car is taken away, then I’ll find another way to travel. In the same way, if guns are removed, then those who want to kill, will find another way.

Humans are sinful. “Behold, I was brought forth in iniquity, and in sin did my mother conceive me.” (Psalm 51:5) And it’s their sinful hearts that drive them to use guns for nefarious purposes. It’s because of sinful hearts that we have war. (I’m not saying all war is wrong, but if we were all perfect, there would be no reason for war.) It’s because of sinful hearts that guns were made. Only when God changes hearts will guns “cease” to be dangerous.

Go ahead and remove all the world’s guns, but we won’t be safe until man’s sin nature is set right. Man will walk in sin and destruction until the day the trumpet sounds and Christ returns. On that day, He will overcome all evil and those who have been redeemed will be raised up in glory with Him! This God will do in His perfect time! He will restore the earth and His people to glory! This is a day to which I’m looking forward!

Randy Alcorn has spent years studying Heaven. He has a wonderful book sharing what he has learned. This is a brief clip of him talking a little about Heaven.

One thought on “Would Removing all Guns from Earth Make Us More or Less Safe?

Leave a Reply

