Weary in the Battle

The past few days have exhausted me and there is one battle in particular in which I am feeling worn down and weary. At times like this I am often very thankful for a teaching I heard in my college days. I don’t remember who taught the lesson. I only remember that the passage was on the armor of God, Ephesians 6. The main point that I remember was from verse 10.

Therefore, take up the full armor of God, so that you will be able to resist in the evil day, and having done everything, to stand firm.

Ephesians 6:10 (Emphasis mine)

Having done everything, stand firm. Once you’ve sought God, girding yourself with Truth, Righteousness (found only in Christ), the Gospel of peace, Faith, Salvation, and His Word, then the main job is to stand firm. Firmly in Him.

I don’t know if I’m yet at the point of “having done everything.” But I’m very glad that I can stand firmly rooted on my Rock and Redeemer! And while standing firm, waiting patiently on Him, I will sing (and dance!) to the God “who gives life to the dead and calls into being that which does not exist.” (Romans 4:17)

I waited patiently for the LORD;
And He inclined to me and heard my cry.
He brought me up out of the pit of destruction, out of the miry clay,
And He set my feet upon a rock making my footsteps firm.
He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God;
Many will see and fear
And will trust in the LORD.

Psalm 40:1-3

One thought on “Weary in the Battle

Leave a Reply

