More Desirable Than Gold, Sweeter Than Honey

I’ve thought several times that I would like to memorize Psalm 119. I loved that in the midst of this thought being on my mind, I came to Psalm 19 in my study of the Psalms. The middle of this psalm sounds like it belongs to 119! David declares,

The law of the LORD is perfect, restoring the soul;
The testimony of the LORD is sure, making wise the simple.
The precepts of the LORD are right, rejoicing the heart;
The commandment of the LORD is pure, enlightening the eyes.
The fear of the LORD is clean, enduring forever;
The judgments of the LORD are true; they are righteous altogether.
They are more desirable than gold, yes, than much fine gold;
Sweeter also than honey and the drippings of the honeycomb.
Moreover, by them Your servant is warned;
In keeping them there is great reward.

Psalm 19:7-11

I love that! God’s Word is perfect, sure, right, pure, true, righteous, more desirable than gold, and sweeter than honey. My husband doesn’t care much for honey, but I love it! I can eat it by the spoonful. One of my favorite breakfasts is bread warmed and buttered with honey dripping off the sides. I rarely eat it because it’s more expensive than a bowl of cereal, it’s messy, and it’s not very healthy, but it is SO yummy! David says God’s Word is like that to him. Do I enjoy God’s Word the way I enjoy my bread dripping with honey? When I sit down to read it, study it, or be taught from it, am I licking my lips with anticipation? Or do I begin assuming this is going to be a plain piece of bread?

David also says God’s Word more desirable than gold. When we look at the descriptions of God’s Word (perfect, sure, right, pure, true, and righteous) and what God’s Word does for the one who soaks it in (restores, makes wise, causes rejoicing, enlightens, and warns) , then we should desire it more than gold! It is more wonderful and offers far greater benefits! But do I desire His Word more than gold? Am I willing to put aside seeking after worldly riches in order to mine the depths of God’s heart so that He can work to change my heart?

When I was in college, I went on an FCA retreat. Tommy Nelson was the speaker and I will never forget him sharing how much he loved the Word of God. He declared to us that he loved it so much, he couldn’t sleep late in the morning. He was so excited to get up to read God’s Word that he would barely sleep, then would just wake up at 4 or 5 in the morning to jump into God’s Word! I was amazed. I want to love God’s Word like that! But I often find that what I really love is my sleep. Yet God is so incredibly gracious! He has given me a love for His Word. I do long for it and even if I oversleep, He helps me find ways to be sure that I spend time with Him in His Word and prayer. He has put in me a desire to know His Word, to have it memorized and available whenever I need. For the longest time I tried to make myself get excited about God’s Word the way Tommy Nelson had expressed. And I would feel quite defeated when other things would draw my interest more. But I’ve realized that it’s not anything I can do within myself. Nor can you. God does it. He changes our hearts and draws us to hunger for more of Him. He often does it by His Word because that’s how He speaks to us in these last days, but it is His work alone and it is done in His perfect time so that He receives glory for great things!

2 thoughts on “More Desirable Than Gold, Sweeter Than Honey

  1. I love Psalm 19 and honey too 🙂 that’s funny because I just read a book today to my kids about honeybees and how honey is made! It’s an arduous process for the bees to make honey and many of them die after they’ve done their work but for all their hard work we have rich sweetness! I’m sure there’s a spiritual parallel there but I’ll need to do more thinking 🙂 Psalm 1 is another great great psalm about God’s word and the wonderful benefit of meditating on His word day and night – we will be like a tree firmly planted that will bear fruit in its season and will not have its leaves withered! My kids and I have memorized a few psalms but I can’t imagine memorizing Psalm 119 – that would surely be a joyous task though!

  2. I hunger more and more for God. It first took me wanting to know Him more and deeper and making that conscious decision to do what it took to be able to do that. It took me committing to obedience and reading His Word and committing to praying more. It took me being patient and taking the time to listen. It took me asking Him to please help me to draw closer. Grow my faith Lord. It took Him to hear my cry and respond and bless me with what I asked for. We can do nothing without God giving us the grace to do it. Thank you for your blog.

Leave a Reply

