How to Eat an Elephant

So, I have about three things that God is showing me that I’d like to sit and write about. But this week is busy with activities and many things that I need to do. As I look at and think about my list, I’d like to feel overwhelmed! At times like this I am always reminded of the advice given to me by my friend who is now a missionary on the other side of the globe.

“How do you eat an elephant?” she asked.

As I stared blankly back at her, she told me, “One bite at a time.”

Several times she would remind me of this. I would get overwhelmed and she just offered the simple question, “How do you eat an elephant?”

SoI have a choice today. I can try to swallow my elephant whole and choke on it. I can ignore my elephant and do what pleases me (reading, writing) while ignoring the chores and other responsibilities God has placed before me. Or I can begin to eat the elephant while praying and praising Him!

Whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks through Him to God the Father.

Colossians 3:17

Whatever you do, do your work heartily, as for the Lord rather than for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance. It is the Lord Christ whom you serve.

Colossians 3:23-24

 

Leave a Reply

