Waiting on The LORD

After the week (you can read it here) of having God make it clear to me that I needed to lay down dance ministry, I was approached by our pastor and asked to consider doing something for Christmas. The next week I was asked by the wife of the man who is standing as interim worship leader if I wanted to continue in dance ministry. The next morning the person leading the choir in the interim asked me about dancing for Christmas. She had a specific song and date. I explained to each the path God had led me down and each of them were very understanding and desirous of me walking in obedience. As it has become clear that there is a desire for dance to continue in some capacity, I have sought God’s direction. I am extremely grateful for the wisdom our pastor offered me as we conversed about these things. He strongly encouraged that if I had even a little doubt, that I should wait on God. Last night, I felt strongly confident that God would be pleased with moving forward on a Christmas dance. I sat and talked with a close friend that affectionately claims me as her adopted daughter. She warned me that I would doubt as I moved forward and to keep seeking. This morning, less than 12 hours after her warning, the doubt was there. Normally, I would seek the wisdom of people — talk to my friend, my pastor, etc. I usually seek those I consider to be godly, but too often I seek their wisdom first and go to God in prayer later. God is so gracious to me that He drew me into Himself and caused me to pray that He would make His path clear. Shortly after I spent this time in prayer, I opened up a devotional in my email. The topic was waiting on the Lord. A little later, I took a look at Facebook. The post that jumped out at me was about waiting on God. Then as I looked through a feed from a podcast I enjoy, I read some of the transcript from today’s message. It was about waiting on God. Well that’s a pretty clear answer, I think! I love what our pastor taught about waiting on the Lord several months ago. It doesn’t mean that we sit and do nothing. It means that we are actively seeking Him through prayer and His Word as we continue to walk in the things that He does put before us. The third time this call to wait on the Lord came up, I decided to search the Bible to see what it says about waiting on the Lord. Many of the verses are well-known and I could almost quote them, but it’s striking to see them together.

>Wait for the LORD;
be strong, and let your heart take courage;
wait for the LORD!

Psalm 27:14

>Be strong, and let your heart take courage,
all you who wait for the LORD!

Psalm 31:24

>but those who wait for the LORD shall inherit the land.

Psalm 37:9b

>Wait for the LORD and keep his way,
and he will exalt you to inherit the land;

Psalm 37:34a

>But for you, O LORD, do I wait;
it is you, O Lord my God, who will answer.

Psalm 38:15

>I waited patiently for the LORD;
he inclined to me and heard my cry.

Psalm 40:1

And I didn’t even get into all the passages in Isaiah, Lamentations, Micah, or the New Testament! It’s an interesting study into which I will definitely be putting more time! For this moment, I am content to know that He hears and will answer those who wait on Him.

Leave a Reply

