Sweet

Over the last few days I have been called “sweet” more times than I can count! It used to really bother me when someone called me sweet. Being a gymnastics coach and being sweet just didn’t go together! I needed and wanted to be tough. But I no longer have any ambition to be a great gymnastics coach. If God had me there, I would still want to be the best coach I could be, but He has clearly drawn me into a new life path and I’m loving it!

Having been called “sweet” so many times, I was curious what the Bible calls sweet. The English word is used several times in regard to spices, incense, honey, and water but that’s not all! Psalm 119:103 is well known in Christian circles.

Psalms 119:103
How sweet are your words to my taste,
sweeter than honey to my mouth!

God’s Word is sweet! Ezekial and John also eat scrolls containing God’s Word and find that they are sweet. If God’s everlasting Word is sweet, then perhaps I don’t mind so much being called sweet! But it gets better.

Ecclesiastes 11:7
Light is sweet, and it is pleasant for the eyes to see the sun.

Light is sweet! And do you know what Jesus calls His followers to be? Light in the darkness!

Matthew 5:14-16
You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do people light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a stand, and it gives light to all in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.

With that, I’ll happily accept the high compliment of being called sweet! Yet, I know that it is not of my doing. God has skillfully woven the sweet spirit. Left to myself, I am demanding, selfish, angry, and anything but sweet!!! Just ask my kids! To HIM be all praise for anyone seeing any sweetness in me. From Him comes joy knowing that He will finish this work of heart change that He has begun!

Leave a Reply

