200?

According to WordPress, this is my 200th post. I guess I’m supposed to get really excited and do something big for it. But I don’t have any ideas about what I would do. Also it’s been a long day and I have a headache and a sore throat (don’t think I’m sick, just exhausted and dehydrated). So I prefer to read a good book while drinking some cold water!

Instead of some big celebration, here’s the result of a search on “two hundred” in the ESV Bible. I read that this number often signifies insufficiency in the Bible, such as when Jesus tells Philip to get food for feeding the 5000.

Philip answered him, “Two hundred denarii would not buy enough bread for each of them to get a little.”

John 6:7

That theory is pretty clear in this instance, but I’m not sure that the idea holds true for every time the number two hundred is used. I know that there are some numbers that do have Biblical signifigance and meaning: 3, 7, & 40. I just haven’t yet been convinced of signifigance of other numbers. Nor have I made great effort to study it. I do enjoy numbers and would enjoy learning more about that, but this isn’t the time. Perhaps down the road! If you have more insight, I’d be happy to hear it!

Leave a Reply

