Prayer Life

A couple of weeks ago I was convicted about my prayer life. Today as I was reading J.I. Packer’s Knowing God, I was again convicted that my prayer life isn’t what it ought to be. Or what I want it to be!

Packer makes the point that one could gauge how well he/she knows God upon the passion and frequency of his/her prayers. Is it just another ho-hum, “Thanks for these earthly blessings, heal the sick, save my friend, good night?” Or is it intimate conversation with the Creator and Lover of your soul? My prayers tend to be passionate. But many times I’m
passionate about my desires, rather than about Him. I love to hear about “prayer warriors.” I have wished I could be categorized as one. Perhaps in my quest to know God more, He will grant me the fervor for prayer for which I hunger!

Leave a Reply

