Obedience Comes by Love

But the goal of our instruction is love from a pure heart and a good conscience and a sincere faith.

1 Timothy 1:5

Recently, my husband I and were told that our children are disobedient. At first I was defensive, but actually I agree! They are! They’re also sinners that don’t have the Spirit to guide them into Truth and living God’s way. Does that mean that we excuse disobedience? No. We don’t. We discipline often. And we try to be consistent. Today I found myself in the trap of parenting behavior. I let my approval be based on performance. May it not be! 1 Timothy 1:5 is a verse that I cling to in my parenting. Why? Because Jesus explains that true obedience is an overflow of love. “If you love Me, you will keep My commandments.” (John 14:15) So I will continue to correct poor behavior, but I’m going to spend far more time instructing towards love and attempting to win their hearts to be young men who love God and love people.

Here is a much more in-depth article related to the topic that I thought was good.

My boys loving each other!

One thought on “Obedience Comes by Love

Leave a Reply

