At the Back of the North Wind

I listened to this audio-drama years ago. At the time, I didn’t really get the point of the story. Knowing that Lewis considered himself MacDonald’s protege, I made the assumption that this, too was a biblical allegory. With this assumption still in  mind, I decided to read the book again. As I read it, I think that perhaps it is less allegory than a fictional work representing various biblical truths. I am less than halfway through and still have many unanswered questions, but this morning one particular conversation struck me as being very reflective of Christian believers in the arms of our Father.

Diamond, a young boy, has been gathered by the North Wind (a lady) to travel with her and see her work. At this time, her work was to sink a ship and she blew with strong, loud winds. Diamond, becomes afraid and cowers at her feet. She lifts him up to her bosom and he thanks her. North offers for Diamond to ride in a nest in her hair where he will not feel the wind. Diamond replies:

“Ah, but, dear North Wind, you don’t know how nice it is to feel your arms about me. It is a thousand times better to have them and the wide together than to have only your hair and the back of your neck and no wind at all.”

“But it is surely more comfortable there?”

“Well, perhaps; but I begin to think there are better things than being comfortable.”

Like Diamond, I think that it is much more wonderful to experience the storms of life from the Father’s arms, than to be comfortably tucked away. I can’t say that I always feel or think that way. Often, I would rather all the storms of life just go away! But I know that when we allow ourselves to see Him work in the difficulties of life, it is so much more wonderful! We learn to understand, cherish, and trust Him more, grow in courage and strength for the next storm, and gain compassion for fellow men experiencing their own storms.

This God—his way is perfect;
the word of the LORD proves true;
he is a shield for all those who take refuge in him.

Psalm 18:30

Leave a Reply

