Walking in Trust or Walking in Pride?

Do all things without grumbling or questioning, that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world, holding fast to the word of life…

Philippians 2:14-16a

Today has been one of those days in which no matter what I asked Ryan, 6, to do, he was going to whine about it. He has memorized Philippians 2:14  in the NIV which uses the word “complaining” instead of “grumbling.” I had him tell me the verse and reminded him that whining is the same as complaining. I won’t go into the details of the entire story, but he finally came to me, apologized, and by his attitude showed that he seemed ready to put on contentedness. So I stopped what I was doing to talk to him. We discussed how whining is like saying to God, “I don’t trust You for these circumstances you’ve given me. I don’t like what you are doing.” We talked about how it is pride saying that we know what would be better for us than what God has given us in the moment.

Sounds great! Until I recall how often I have complained! How many times have I complained about not having a yard big enough, not having enough time for things that I want to do, not having my husband home enough, it being too hot, and so much more! I have not yet learned the lesson that Paul had down so well:

Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.

Philippians 4:11-14

It is my heart’s desire not only to trust Him so completely as Paul states here, but to teach my children to walk in that trust. I do not want to model to them the pride that says “I know best. My plan is better than God’s.” And even more than that, I want to be a pleasing sacrifice to the Lord. I do not want to anger Him as the Israelites did!

And the people complained in the hearing of the LORD about their misfortunes, and when the LORD heard it, his anger was kindled, and the fire of the LORD burned among them and consumed some outlying parts of the camp.

Numbers 11:1

How I pray for a heart that trusts Him completely! I want to be a woman that walks humbly before Him, content to know that every circumstance is under His sovereign control and is being used by Him for His glory and my good (Rom. 8:28-30)!

Leave a Reply

