Memorize Scripture, Affect the Day

A little over a week ago, I listened to a series of messages on Revive Our Hearts. The guest, Janet Pope, was speaking on Scripture memorization. Several times she made the point, that the reason for memorizing Scripture is not to check off the box on the list of spiritual disciplines, but to grow to know God and His Word more. When I was in college and single, I memorized a lot of Scripture. I remember some of it, but I haven’t really worked on reviewing or memorizing Scripture in a long time. I have desired to get back into Scripture memory, but find it hard as my boys often interrupt my prayer time, Bible study time, reading time, and everything else I attempt during the day! So I was thrilled when I listened to Janet explain her method of memorization and how it has worked for her for 14 books of the Bible and 121 chapters. You can get the transcript and download of the first message by clicking here.

The point of all that is to say that I started memorizing Scripture the way that she talks about. As she recommends, I began with Psalm 1. Today, I began Psalm 150 (one of my favorites). After learning the first verse, I read through the chapter. I thought it might be easiest to do the whole psalm, rather than breaking it up by verse. So while I cleaned house this morning (and the boys were occupied pretending to be Toy Story characters), I memorized Psalm 150. I say this, not to brag, but to make this point. The morning began very frustratingly. As I was journaling and reading my daily Bible, one child was destroying a Lego creation while the other was whimpering, whining, and generally throwing a fit about it. The next 45 minutes or so, continued with arguing, temper tantrums, disobedience, and general unkindness. For me, the frustration was quickly building. But as soon as I began to repeat Psalm 150 over and over again, my heart attitude quickly turned to joy. There just isn’t a way to talk about praising the Lord over and over again without having joy creep into your heart. Now, hopefully, the next time the frustration or anger with the boys sneaks up on me, I will stop and turn my focus on Him with this joyful passage…

Praise the LORD! Praise God in his sanctuary; praise him in his mighty heavens! Praise him for his mighty deeds; praise him according to his excellent greatness! Praise him with trumpet sound; praise him with lute and harp! Praise him with tambourine and dance; praise him with strings and pipe! Praise him with sounding cymbals; praise him with loud clashing cymbals! Let everything that has breath praise the LORD! Praise the LORD!

Psalm 150

One thought on “Memorize Scripture, Affect the Day

Leave a Reply

