Wonders of His Ways

I love how God works in little things. I don’t know about you, but I’m not often surprised to see Him work in big things (to our limited minds), such as conferences, political figures, creation, etc. It’s not that I don’t appreciate those things. I do! But it’s just not surprising. I think those “big things” demonstrate how huge and mighty He is, but I love how He orchestrates little details! That’s when I see how mightily He loves each of His children — that He cares enough to work out what seems insignificant.

Yesterday, I was praying about a meeting that I was to have later that morning. I was very concerned that everything that would be said would be God-honoring. Though I needed to express myself clearly, I didn’t want to be guilty of slander or any other sin of the tongue. After praying, I opened up an app on my iTouch that helps the user memorize verses. My plan was to work on a verse from Luke that I had down a few weeks ago, but has since slipped out of my mind. When I got in the app, the verse wasn’t there! I know for a fact that I typed it in. And all my other verses that I had put in were still there. So I have to assume that God just didn’t want me to work on that one!

Instead, I skimmed through the other verses that were there. Ephesians 4:29 was a verse that had been pre-loaded in the app. I didn’t know what it said, so I opened it up.

Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.

I immediately made this my prayer for the day and specifically for the meeting! I wanted to speak only things that would give grace to those who heard. I posted it on Facebook as an extra reminder to myself and so that those who might see would possibly agree with me in the prayer.

This morning I received a message from my friend Karen, that she was glad to have seen the reference because she had a friend who had needed it later that day. God had used a Facebook status update (that definitely seems insignificant!) to help her counsel a friend in need!

I love that He is the God of the details!!! He knows and loves us intimately enough to take care of those details.

And another related thought — things that we think seem insignificant, probably aren’t. We should be aware that what we put on our Facebook status, what we wear, the flippant things that we say, and other “little” choices in our lives can be used to edify or tear down. Even things that are amoral can and will be used by God or by the prowling lion, Satan (1 Peter 5:8). We must be on guard, seeking to please Him in ALL that we do.

Whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks throughHim to God the Father.

Colossians 3:17

2 thoughts on “Wonders of His Ways

  1. It was just amazing how that all worked out.

    First thing….what’s the name of that memory aid app?

    Second….I was listening to the True Woman podcast (a rebroadcast of their conference sessions) and heard Nancy Leigh Demoss quote John Piper…It was about how THOUSANDS of things are in motion right now by God, but we are not privy to MOST of them. We might get to see a few little bits of what’s going on, but the vast majority is hidden from us. That really made me think about how every single thing I do or say is having an unseen impact on many others. Just my one word of encouragement might save a life, or bring one to salvation, or make someone stop and think. Just my living my life for God might be what someone sees to give them hope and make them search for something more. And I may never ever know that what I did made a difference. Wow.

Leave a Reply

