Glory to God

Those of you who have followed me for even a little while probably know that I love to read and I love to write about the things God teaches me in what I’m reading. On the recommendation of a good friend, I am currently reading Breaking Free by Beth Moore. Oh, and as a side note, I’m reading it on the nook that my parents so graciously gave me for Christmas!

Back to Beth Moore! Today I read a chapter about glorifying God. According to the Westminster Greater Catechism, man’s chief and highest end is to glorify God and enjoy Him fully. When I searched the ESV Bible for the word “glory,” there were 338 occurences! I did not take the time to fine out how many applied to people glorifying God. The point was made well enough for me — God cares about His glory.

One thing that I really liked that Beth Moore did is actually try to come up with a working definition of glory. I’ve never heard anyone try to define it before! It’s just always been this abstract idea that everyone sort of understands. I personally always associated it with honor, splendor, and renown. I thought the idea of glorifying God meant that we gave Him honor, demonstrated His splendor, and just generally made Him known. Those ideas are not wrong, but I liked that Beth found out the original Hebrew and Greek words and what they meant.

As often happens, when you look up an English word in the original language, there are multiple words that can be translated into our one word. She used one Hebrew and one Greek word and came up with these definitions for “glory:”

  • weight, honor, esteem
  • to be renowned, to show oneself great or mighty
  • the true apprehension of God or things, His unchanging essence, what He essentially is

So for Him to show us His glory would be for Him to show His greatness, His might, and His essence (Himself!).

Living a life that glorifies God is synonymous with living a life that reveals God.

p. 37

The reason that I wrote all the above was in order to be able to share this. Moore included a checklist (pp. 39-40) for personal evaluation of how well we are giving God glory. I’m not a person who loves lists, but I thought that these were good questions and I liked that they are all based on Scripture. I hope that you will take time to read the Scriptures and allow God to show you how you are doing in each area.

  • Is my most important consideration in every undertaking whether or not God could be glorified? (1 Cor. 10:31)
  • Do I desire God’s glory or my own? (John 8:50, 54)
  • In my service to others, is my sincere hope that they will somehow see God in me? (1 Pet. 4:10-11)
  • When I am going through hardships, do I turn to God and try to cooperate with Him so He can use them for my good and for His glory? (1 Pet. 4:12-13)
  • Am I sometimes able to accomplish things or withstand things only through the power of God? (2 Cor. 4:7)
Leave a Reply

