From the Heart, the Mouth Speaks

For out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks. — Matthew 12:34b

I was reading over the transcript from today’s broadcast of Revive Our Hearts. It is about memorizing Scripture and I was REALLY convicted!!! When I was in college, I was good about memorizing Scripture. There are many times that those verses still come to mind. But since I’ve been out of school, I haven’t been so good about it. After reading this,

Nancy Epperson: I must tell you one thing that truly motivated me to memorize Scripture. With four little kids, you’re impatient at times, and sometimes you raise your voice.

Nancy Leigh DeMoss: You mean other mothers do that, too?

Nancy Epperson: Oh, yes. I think every mother does, although there are probably some that don’t. But I realize that “out of the abundance of the heart, the mouth speaketh” (Matthew 12:34). And, “as a man thinketh in his heart, so is he” (Luke 6:45) the Bible says. So what we put into the computer actually is what is going to come out. I realized I wanted to have loving words for my children.

My parents were divorced when I was eleven, and my step-father, who wasn’t a Christian, was a good man. However, he was very verbally abusive—never physically, but just verbally demeaning. When I became a Christian, I read verses like, “Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace to the hearers” (Ephesians 4:29). So my whole vocabulary changed when I became a Christian and when I started hiding God’s Word in my heart.

I will tell you, because of the power of the Word and the renewing of the mind, my tongue was affected. As a mother, I found that I was encouraging my children.

They say the cycle of abuse continues. Well, that cycle of verbal abuse was totally broken, stopped, cut off 100% because I encouraged my children with the Word of God. Do you know what? All four of my kids to this day are such encouragers.

If you are ever discouraged, Nancy, you call any one of my four kids, and they will lift you and encourage you with Scripture, and it will be a blessing.

That cycle of verbal abuse was totally stopped.

I was reminded that it is just as important, if not more important to memorize Scripture now as it was then. This is an area that I really struggle with. When one of my children is having a day of constant disobedience, disrespect, whining, etc., I often lash out with my words. I really don’t want to. I’m getting better about putting them in their bed and walking away for a time. But it would be so much better to just speak Truth to them in those moments!

So I’m going to get back to memorizing Scripture. And I hope that you will, too. There are so many times that simply having the Word to call up in your mind would be very helpful.

  • On the day that someone comes to you asking the reason for the hope that you have (1 Peter 3:15), you will have an answer.
  • When a brother or sister is down-trodden, you will have Truth to encourage (1 Thes. 5:11)
  • For teaching your children (Deut. 6:7)

That, I’m sure is just the beginning! During the broadcast Nancy Epperson recommends getting a partner to assist in Scripture memorization. So I’m going to be praying about who that might be, but in the meantime I’m just going to start memorizing — beginning with Luke 6:45.

The good person out of the good treasure of his heart produces good, and the evil person out of his evil treasure produces evil, for out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks.

If you decide to join me in this discipline, let me know so that I can pray for you and perhaps occasionally ask you how it’s going!

Leave a Reply

