Surrender to God’s Best

I have a friend who put out a challenge to do a blog every day for the year 2010. She has three blogs with which she is able to go for this goal. I only do this one. I haven’t really decided to go for it — not with the determination that I did for NaBloPoMo back in November — but I did decide that I would begin with January. I’m not putting any pressure on myself to complete this goal. It’s just for fun. If life just gets too crowded by other things, then out the door this goes! I figure that I’ll go month by month and see how it ends up!

Though the official month for NaBloPoMo is November, they have a blog roll every month. Except for November, each month has a theme. For January, the theme is “best.” I doubt that I’ll blog around this theme every day, but my thoughts today actually go with the theme!

After finishing Brokenness, I began the next book in the trilogy, Surrender. Complete surrender to God is the only way to receive His best for us. We can try to hold back part of ourselves, but until we truly give everything to Him, our joy will not be full.

It’s unnatural to surrender ourselves. We spend our whole life fighting for us. We are very self-centered naturally and do whatever it takes to get what we need and want. God doesn’t ask an easy thing of us. In fact, I think that it’s an impossible task to surrender my entire self to Him! Impossible on my own strength. However, if He empowers me to surrender everything, then I can. Without His Spirit enabling me to surrender every aspect of my life, my personality, and my dreams, I would be stuck. But God is so good! He commands us to do something that we cannot do. Then, He fills us with Himself and gives us everything that we need to obey His command! Our only job is to trust Him as we walk in obedience.

And when we do that, He often pours out His blessings! Actually, He always pours out His blessings. They may be physical, earthly blessings, but they may be unseen. The biggest blessing is fellowship with Him. When we are walking in full surrender to Him, then there is no break in the sweet relationship that He offers. And that alone brings great joy to my heart!

Bless the LORD, O my soul! O LORD my God, You are very great! You are clothed with splendor and majesty, covering Yourself with light as with a garment, stretching out the heavens like a tent. He lays the beams of His chambers on the waters; He makes the clouds His chariot; He rides on the wings of the wind; He makes His messengers winds, His ministers a flaming fire.  He set the earth on its foundations, so that it should never be moved.

Psalm 104:1-5

This is a God that I want to be surrendered to! How awesome and mighty is He! And on top of being wonderfully amazing, He wants to bless us. He wants to give us joy. He wants to show us His incredible love! He wants to give His children His best.

His best may not be what I think. It may be a difficult child whom He will use to teach me unconditional love, patience, grace, and so much more. It might be financial hardship to teach me endurance, stewardship, and dependence. Surrender to His best might not feel good at first, but I know that the Creator has a greater plan and eventually, I may get to see why His best is far better than I could have dreamed!

One thought on “Surrender to God’s Best

  1. “His best may not be what I think.”

    oh how true! He threw a situation in my life in 2009 that taught me to forgive as he forgave me. Not a bad lesson, but I did question his process for awhile. Ultimately though, I saw where my heart was–and how far it was from where it needed to be. God in his infinite wisdom knew a small reminder wasn’t going to turn my heart. Praise him for knowing!!

Leave a Reply

