Earthen Vessels

The last week has been full of cleaning, cooking, serving, practicing several different parts of upcoming Christmas pieces,  normal daily things, and not much sleep. Despite all this, I was unable to get to sleep last night while waiting for my hard-working husband to come home from delivering pizza. So today I am very tired. Truthfully, blogging about Godly things is the last thing that I want to do. All I want to do is to sleep, but I made this commitment to blog daily through the month of November. I’m really glad that I did. Determined to keep my commitment, I sat down prayerfully considering what I should write about today. Then I remembered an unread devotional in my inbox. So I read it! It is based on 2 Corinthians 1-4, but it was the first part that really got me thinking…

Earthen vessels (clay pots) are brittle and of little value; but, if they are filled with gold, their value increases dramatically. We have this Treasure in earthen vessels (4:7). How thrilling it is to realize that within us we have what is, to God, the most priceless treasure in all the world — the indwelling Christ (Col. 1:27)! Because of this, we are precious to God (II Tim. 2:20-21).

Precious to God. Even though my earthen vessel (“jars of clay” in most modern translations) isn’t even as pretty as this one! This vessel is full of impurities. My sins are so many that I don’t even know them all. But I’m still precious to Him! So precious that He is working out all those impurities, cleaning me up to look more like Him. And so precious that He continues to use me for His kingdom in marvelous ways.

I chose this picture because of the water being poured out. It ties in to so many Biblical analogies. I could talk about them for some time, but I’m just going to say that I’m joyously grateful that He has fashioned me to carry the Living Water. I’m amazed that though I continue to stumble and bring Him dishonor through my sins, He still pours out and overflows His Spirit in me! It is truly an amazing God that we serve.

Leave a Reply

