Trusting the Goodness of God

I am sad to say that I am not very disciplined in my Bible study time. I have always struggled with this. It isn’t that I don’t want to study my Bible. I do want to be well-versed in what God says about Himself and how He wants us to live. It isn’t that I don’t know how to study my Bible. I have been well taught many different ways of studying the Bible.

My dilemma usually comes in deciding what to study. There have been times in my life when I was really drawn towards studying a specific book. In those times, I made time daily to study it. Most of the time, I don’t really know what to study. It’s one reason that I’m thankful for the women’s Bible study offered at my church. I choose one that sounds interesting, applies to where I am, or that I am drawn to for some other reason. Then I not only know what to study, I have some accountability for studying.

This is the sad part of it. I need the accountability. It’s one of the reasons that I’m trying to get into the habit of daily blogging. If I plan to keep my posts focused on what God is teaching me, then I have to be looking to Him to teach me daily, right?!? Right. Only now I’m back in the dilemma of wondering what to study. The Bible study at church has ended until January. This week I am catching up on a few of the lessons I missed due to sick kids, but when I have finished those, what will I do?

I have to admit, I have some slight fear here. I have noticed in my life, that I get into this pattern: God rekindles my fire for Him. I get involved in Bible study and keep the fire burning. For one reason or another I get out of Bible study. The fire starts to flicker, but I keep trying to follow Him. Finally, I fall completely out of the practice, start going back inside myself, and let the fire die. Eventually, something will happen and the cycle will begin again.

Every time the cycle begins, I tell myself that I don’t want to walk the same road again. I want to keep my fire! That’s where I am now. I don’t want to go back to my selfish, thoughtless ways. I want to be faithful. So this morning, I was praying in that way. “Lord, please keep drawing me near. Please keep teaching me. Please show me what to study in this time without the women’s Bible study.” I don’t have my answer yet, but He showed me something else.

One of the lessons that I had missed was in regard to God’s goodness. The Scripture basis was Isaiah 40:11. “He will tend his flock like a shepherd; he will gather the lambs in his arms; he will carry them in his bosom, and gently lead those that are with young.”

Wait! Did He just say that He would tend His flock? And I’m part of that flock! He said that He will gather His lambs and carry them! He said that He will lead those with young (that’s me — I have two young ones)!!! Oh! I think I get it! God is so good that He will take care of us. He will love us. He will protect us. And He will lead us.

He will care for all our needs. (Yes, He says that often, but I didn’t apply it here before.) And as His child, I need to continue learning about Him, knowing Him, growing in Him, and walking in His truth. I don’t need to worry about getting off the path, because He will guide me. And when I do get off the path, He will bring me back — just as He has already done many times!

So, I will still ask Him to put a desire in me to study something specific, but I’m not going to worry about it this time. I’m going to trust Him to be my good shepherd and gently lead me. I can see that the worry over what to study has actually kept me from studying anything at all!

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.

Philippians 4:6

I have missed out on God’s goodness in my life when it comes to the spiritual disciplines. I hope that isn’t true for you, but if it is, let Him show you just how good He can be!

One thought on “Trusting the Goodness of God

  1. thanks kimm..i needed this. i struggle with the same thing. i have such a strong desire to get in the word and ingest it into my being, but day after day seems to slip by me. i also do great with women’s studies, but on my own-its comes in spurts. thank you for sharing those verses. i once heard that each day God adds a paint stroke to our portrait…. he is not finished yet! 🙂 in the end we will be beautiful portraits.

Leave a Reply

