Wisdom for Marriage

Shortly after I got married, I received some wonderful wisdom from a sweet friend and mentor. I’m not really sure how it came about, but when I changed Bible covers, I discovered the note tucked away for safe keeping.

She titled it, “One of the Key Lessons I learned About Marriage.”

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control ; against such things there is no law.

Galatians 5:22-23


They (the fruit) are given to us to share with our spouse. The temptation is to see them (our spouse) as the source.

Short, simple, and oh so true! In the Scripture, she had circled the word “joy.” Now I understand why. How many times have I looked to Chris to fill my life with joy? That’s not his job. His job is to follow after Christ and in so doing he will show me love, he will lead our family, and he will serve those around him. But so many times I have hoped that the joy of Chris would be my strength instead of the joy of the Lord! (Nehemiah 8:10)

I’m sure that at different times in life, the same truth can be applied to all the fruits. I have mentioned in several past posts the shame that I am being freed from. One of the things that clinging to that shame caused me to do was to seek out love from Chris, rather than from God. But that verse very clearly states that the fruit is from the Spirit. It does not grow any other way. And when I keep trying to grow it through others or in my own strength, I will continue to fail!

So I pray that from this day forward that I would remember my friend’s godly advice and seek the Spirit’s work in my heart and life. And in so doing, perhaps my amazing husband will be more free to follow after and worship the Lord with his whole being!

One thought on “Wisdom for Marriage

  1. Wonderful advice.
    So much stuff I can pull from that one verse alone. I can look back on the times we WEREN’T following that verse and see where our lives were. And I can look on the times we WERE and see how much better things were.
    God is so good.

Leave a Reply

