Woefully Inadequate

I was working on my Bible study for this week (which Tropical Storm Ida will probably keep us from having) and realized that I am woefully inadequate to understand the Word of God! I like to think that I am fairly intelligent. My husband tells me that I’m smarter than most people around me. Whether or not that is true, I don’t know. I do know that without the Spirit to teach me, there are passages in the Bible that make little sense!

Ezekiel 1 is where I was studying this morning. As I read the descriptions of the four creatures and the wheels, I just kept thinking, why is this important? Especially the wheels. I can see that the creatures are angelic beings. They are serving the Lord, perhaps preparing the way for Him to show His glory to Ezekiel. I get the whole idea of following the Spirit without turning away. And covering themselves as a sign of reverence. And I suspect that when I get to some deeper study, I’ll find out that each of the animals represented in each creature will have some symbolism.

But the wheels really don’t make any sense to me! I have to raise my hands saying, “God, I don’t get it!” But you know what? That’s awesome!!! I love that I don’t get it! That may be a bit weird, but let me tell you why I love that I don’t understand something in the Bible.

  1. It humbles me. Not understanding forces me to recognize that He is God and He alone has full understanding and knowledge! I cannot stand here in pride (which would be sinful) saying that I get it. So I am humbled before this omniscient God.
  2. It forces me to depend on Him. Since I cannot understand this, I am driven to my knees to beg Him for wisdom and understanding! And that is always a good place to be (in my opinion)!
  3. It drives me to study. I know that God preserved this vision for a purpose. And I want to know what it is! I want to know and understand all that God has for us. So it drives me to study His Word more. However, I also realize that there are things in the Word that are beyond our comprehension and it is our job to believe that what He says is true. So though I will study this more, I will also be ready to agree with Him that this could be one of the things that He has intentionally kept out of my reach (probably to keep me humbled!).

Yes, I love that I don’t understand everything in the Bible! And I can’t wait for another opportunity to learn more. 🙂

One thought on “Woefully Inadequate

  1. His Word IS true. ALL of it.
    Our church is starting a new series and is studying Genesis. Interesting topic this Sunday….if you discount the whole creation thing (and accept evolution) it’s a slippery slope in believing the rest of the Scriptures aren’t totally true.

    Now…what do they all mean? No idea.

    And, btw, you’re WAY smarter than me. I’m still trying to figure out Philippians 4:13! LOL!

Leave a Reply

