A Good Reminder…

My children were wonderful this afternoon! Until we got home. Then after things settled down a bit, we sat down to watch Disney’s Earth. All went fairly well until the movie got done. Then one child got disobedient while the other one became disrespectful and defiant. I think that my husband is feeling weary from the difficult weekend and I know that I am. I am hoping for a good day tomorrow, but just in case, I’m going to remind myself of this:


Be not angry that you cannot make others as you wish them to be, since you cannot make yourself as you wish to be.

Thomas A Kempis

Wow, that’s a really great reminder. Especially since I’ve found myself stumbling around in the flesh repeatedly this last week! I wonder if God is as exasperated with me as I am with the boys? Thankfully, I know that He’s not. He is kind and patient. Slow to anger. Abounding in steadfast love!

The LORD is merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love.

Psalm 103:8

Sigh… How I would like to be like that with my kids. I’m not. I get angry easily. I have very little patience. Especially with Ryan. Mercy definitely does not come easily in my dealings with the boys. Lord, make me more like You! Give me the will to follow where Your Spirit leads. Let the boys see You in my life, not the old man that is battling for control. Grant me humility to love and train these children in the same manner that You love and train us.

One thought on “A Good Reminder…

  1. kimm,

    to hear the boys singing the other night and pointing up with those little fingers almost brought tears to my eyes. i cannot fathom the job of being a mother since i am not, nor the patience required, but you are giving them such a wonderful piece of Jesus-you. while i just met the boys, i can see just in the way they sang all those songs that they have already what i wished i would have had as a child. you must be doing something wonderful and while it may be tough, the Lord is equipping you every day for the role he’s placed you in.

Leave a Reply

