What to Post???

I don’t really know what to post today! But I really want to finish NaBloPoMo!!! So…

I’ve been doing a Bible study at church based on A.W. Tozer’s book, The Attributes of God. It’s a book that I read in college and loved. I even told someone that it was still my favorite book about two weeks before I found out that the church would be offering a Bible study based on it! I have really enjoyed the study and getting to know a few more women. This coming week is our last week and I’m really sad about it! I wish we could just keep going. Of course, I’m sure that the teachers are glad for a break! And since my life is about to get really crazy, I will be too.

The way the study works is that we read the chapter and try to get a good definition and understanding of the attribute. Then we have a workbook that the Bible study teacher made where we are given Scripture passages to study to learn more about the particular attribute. So today, I was looking at one of those passages, Exodus 3:1-6. This is the beginning of Moses’ burning bush experience. I, like many others, learned this story as a kid in Sunday school. I don’t know if I’ve thought too deeply about the passage before, but today I was really curious about why Moses would be told to take his sandals off. I always figured that it was just a sign of reverence.

Then he said, Do not come near; take your sandals off your feet, for the place on which you are standing is holy ground.

Exodus 3:5

According to the Jamieson, Fausset, Brown commentary,

The direction was in conformity with a usage which was well known to Moses, for the Egyptian priests observed it in their temples, and it is observed in all Eastern countries where the people take off their shoes or sandals, as we do our hats. But the Eastern idea is not precisely the same as the Western. With us, the removal of the hat is an expression of reverence for the place we enter, or rather of Him who is worshipped there. With them the removal of the shoes is a confession of personal defilement and conscious unworthiness to stand in the presence of unspotted holiness. (emphasis added)

Wow! I thought it was just a show of respect or honor. It’s WAY more than that! And it is incredible appropriate. And it hit me right where I was in that moment. Confession of personal defilement. Conscious unworthiness to stand in the presence. Yes, I had to get down on my face on my floor and confess and confess and confess! It was one of those moments that I didn’t even realize all that was in my heart, but it was pouring out. So much self-concern, pride, anxiety, fear, self-righteousness. I am most definitely unworthy of standing in His presence! Yet, He lifts me up to stand holy and righteous before Him!!! What marvelous grace that He would consume the sin of my old life and fill me with His new life so that I may stand in His presence and worship!!! What incredible love that He would break our hearts over our sin then immediately replace the brokenness with His joy. Our God is great and greatly to be praised!!! (And yes, I think there is a dance coming now!)

One thought on “What to Post???

Leave a Reply

