Becoming Like Christ

Sanctification, the process of being made more Christ-like, isn’t always fun. But there is always joy in it! I am realizing how much I have allowed shame to keep me from the abundant life. First I realized that I was hiding myself because of it. Then, I found that I would not do the dances within my heart because of shame. Yesterday, it became clear that my prayer life has also been affected. Today, God has shown me that I have never believed that He would use me. Now, I know that He even uses evil for His good! But I would not believe that He would use me. Such self-centered thinking!!! Well, I didn’t like seeing into my heart, but what joy it brings to see the Truth! God loves using His people. What will He use us for? What will He use me for? He alone knows, but it will be fun to see just what He has in store! In the meantime, I will have to constantly remind myself:

I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me.

Galatians 2:20


Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come.

2 Corinthians 5:17


…and put on the new self, which in the likeness of God has been created in righteousness and holiness of the truth.

Ephesians 4:24

One thought on “Becoming Like Christ

  1. Amazing how God works, eh?
    I used to snicker about the scripture that “God doesn’t give you any more than you can bear.” because in the scheme of things—my life was pretty good. So I’d laugh and say, “God must think I’m a wimp bc he hasn’t given me anything rough.”
    well, he gave it to me good recently! Suddenly I found out I COULD bear what I though would kill me–but only with God right there by me. And with this experience God gave me the credibility I always longed for to help others in rough situations. Before this, ppl would have said, “what does SHE know about pain and suffering?”

Leave a Reply

