Walking Worthy

This has been another day of great difficulty with Ryan. Alex has added to the difficulty today by being disobedient and disrespectful. Right now they are napping and I am hopeful that the rest will help them remember how to make good choices, treat others with love and respect, and act in submission to their authorities. Meanwhile, I thought my frustrated, irritated heart could use a reminder!

One of my favorite passages in the Bible is in Colossians. After greeting the church at Colossae, Paul shares the prayer of his heart for them.

And so, from the day we heard, we have not ceased to pray for you, asking that you may be filled with the knowledge of his will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding, so as to walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, fully pleasing to him, bearing fruit in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of God. May you be strengthened with all power, according to his glorious might, for all endurance and patience with joy, giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in light.

Colossians 1:9-12

I’m not sure when I first read or heard the phrase, “walk in a manner worthy,” but I love it! Paul uses it in Ephesians, too. Several years ago, I did a youth lesson on that part of Ephesians and showed how Paul delineates how we walk worthy. He goes into more detail in the Ephesians passage, but also states some important points about how to “walk in a manner worthy” in Colossians.

The first is that we have to be filled with the knowledge of His will. How do we know His will? Through spiritual wisdom and understanding. He is the one who gives us wisdom and understanding.

“You shall speak to all the skillful persons whom I have endowed with the spirit of wisdom…”

Exodus 28:3 (God speaking to Moses)


All the earth was seeking the presence of Solomon, to hear his wisdom which God had put in his heart.

1 Kings 10:24


But if any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all generously and without reproach, and it will be given to him.

James 1:5

So to walk worthy, we must have His wisdom and understanding. What does it look like to be walking worthy?

  • Bearing good fruit
  • Increasing in the knowledge of Him
  • Perseverance
  • Patience with joy
  • Thankful to the Father

I could talk all day about those! But Paul, who was far wiser than me, felt that enough, so I think that will be my reminder to myself for this difficult day. I must seek His wisdom and understanding, so that if my children continue in disobedience and disrespect, that I can still bear good fruit, I can still grow in my knowledge of Him, I can persevere, I can show patience with joy (definitely need to work on this one a lot!), and I can be giving thanks to my Father.

I can’t say that I necessarily feel very thankful for the boys when every moment is a battle, but I am going to choose to give thanks, because He tells me to, but also because they are a gift from the Lord!

Behold, children are a gift of the LORD, The fruit of the womb is a reward.

Psalm 127:3

And with that, I think I’ll slip in their room and give each gift a kiss on the head 🙂


I LOVE how studying the Bible can change my entire outlook on the day!

Leave a Reply

