Thankful for Mercy

Today is one of those days that I am so thankful for the boundless mercy of our Father! All in all it was not a bad day, I just didn’t live it very well. When I awoke, I was tired and irritable. Unfortunately, I couldn’t seem to shake it off. So, when Alex spilled his cereal bowl on himself and the table, I took it away and didn’t let him have anymore breakfast. That was after I yelled at him. Then when he peed all over himself — while standing in the bathroom two feet from the potty — I snapped. I yelled at him and made him clean himself up. Later, when he colored on the table with the markers (washable, of course), I yelled at him. Sigh… too much yelling.

Once I managed to get all the messes under control, I was finally able to dress myself so that we could get out of the house a little. That helped a lot! We went up to the church where Alex asked to go to the “Quiet Room” to play the piano! That’s not very quiet! Of course, he meant the choir room, but it was so cute and made me smile, so I didn’t correct it. 🙂

I did take a few moments to try to regroup and get my focus back where it needed to be. But when we got home and Alex made three more messes (yes, one was another potty accident!!!), I lost it again. I was very thankful when Chris and Ryan came home! They were able to play with Alex so that I could at least make lunch without doing more damage control!

After lunch, the smartest thing that I did all day was to take everyone on a long walk. The dog loved it and the boys really wore themselves out! They rode their bikes around a nearby cul-de-sac. Alex finally learned how to use his pedals! Ryan loved the freedom to ride in whatever direction he wanted. And I enjoyed listening to praise music, being outside, watching the boys have fun, and NOT cleaning up more messes!!!

I could certainly detail more of the day, but the point has been made — I screwed up!!! Yet, I don’t have to hang my head in shame! Shame will not keep me from enjoying my God and this life He is asking me to live. I have confessed and I know that

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

1 John 1:9

So I am thankful for the abundant mercy and grace of the Holy God. He certainly should have no part of me, yet in Christ, He has given me everything I could ever hope for and far more than I could ever begin to deserve. Yes, I yelled at my children and even spoke the shame from which I’m being freed. But my life is hidden in Christ (Col. 3:3), so

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life,and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

Psalm 23:6

And now I get to go to bed, get some rest, and try again tomorrow to walk in a manner worthy of the calling in Christ (Col. 1:10)!

Leave a Reply

