Confirmation

It’s always neat when God confirms what He is showing you. Today the confirmation prepared me for more testing. At Ryan’s school they measure behavior on a bear system. Each day begins with a Happy Bear. As the day progresses and behavior problems occur, they move to Uh-Oh Bear, Thinking Bear, Sad Bear, and Phone Bear. Ryan came home with a Sad Bear today. Usually when this happens, there has been one recurring infraction, but this time there were three behavior problems written on his sheet! I was upset with him, of course, but it didn’t ruin my day. It didn’t even ruin my lunch! At Bible study today, God confirmed to me that my security is in Him. My confidence is in my identity, which is in Him.

The first was confirmation in what I wrote yesterday, “Security“. The first song that we sang was called Count It All Joy. It reconfirmed that our security is in His love for us, from which we cannot be separated! Therefore, I will praise Him, I will trust Him, and I will know that He is making me more like Christ.

Count It All Joy
by Steve & Vikki Cook
Lord, I’ll count it all joy
When my troubles close me in on every side
Lord, I’ll count it all joy
When this road of faith
Runs through the darkest night
For I know You’re at work in me
Yes, I know
You’ll provide all the grace I need
Lord, I’ll count it all joy
When the weight of sorro Drives me to my knees
Every sorrow and pain
In Your mighty hands is forming Christ in me
And I know that Your Word is true
Yes, I know every trial will only prove
Who can separate us
From You and Your great love
You have always been my Rock
I will trust you forever, forever
You have never failed me God
I will trust You forever, forever
Count It All Joy
by Steve & Vikki Cook

Lord, I’ll count it all joy
When my troubles close me in on every side
Lord, I’ll count it all joy
When this road of faith
Runs through the darkest night
For I know You’re at work in me
Yes, I know
You’ll provide all the grace I need

Lord, I’ll count it all joy
When the weight of sorrow
Drives me to my knees
Every sorrow and pain
In Your mighty hands is forming Christ in me
And I know that Your Word is true
Yes, I know every trial will only prove

Chorus:
You have always been my Rock
I will trust you forever, forever
You have never failed me God
I will trust You forever, forever

Bridge:
Who can separate us
From You and Your great love


The second confirmation was during the teaching time. Our Bible study leader took time to talk about our identity and it sounded very much like what I wrote last week, “Confidence“. She reminded us that our identity is in Christ. Now and forever! It is not in our children, our job, our efforts, or anything else in this life. Our identity is in Christ and in Him we are complete, we are raised to new life, and we are seated in the heavenly places! Being one with Him, our lives are hidden, and we do not walk in shame or pride, but in His abundant mercy and grace! What amazing, wonderful loving kindness He offers.

Right now, instead of being angry, frustrated, or depressed, I am singing (and writing) His praises. Instead of sulking and allowing it to ruin my day, I’m going to get the ironing done! And in it all I know that He is working not only in me, but this gracious God who allows time to march on, is working in Ryan, too. I may never see the fruit or understand the road, but God knows it all and has a greater plan than I can ever imagine! And for that, too, I will praise Him!

Leave a Reply

