Sunday Speculations

I want to continue writing on a daily basis, but Sundays are busy, so I’m going to try having these Sunday Speculations for a while…

Today I missed teaching Sunday school and participating in the regular worship service. Instead, I went with our kids’ choir to a special outreach service at a local elementary school. It was very neat to be a part of that, but I really, really missed joining in the regular service! The youth and other leaders did a great job, but my mind was divided between making sure the kids’ choir was behaving and worship. I also began getting a headache during the time, which was another distraction. It wasn’t until about 4, when the boys and I took the dog for a walk, that I realized how much I longed for the worship time. Listening to my iPod, I began to worship in my heart (yes, my mind was dancing, too) and I realized that I missed that this morning! I am very much looking forward to Tuesday morning Bible study when we will worship with music, fellowship, and teaching. Can we skip Monday?

Though I was a little disappointed at missing the worship at Rocky, there were some really neat things that happened at the elementary school.  The one thing that really stands out was how the kids interacted together. Our kids come from middle-class to upper-class homes. According to society’s standards, most of the kids from our The Heights ministry come from lower-class homes. When we first arrived, there was a slight congregating of the two groups. The kids from our church seemed a little unsure of what to do. After worshiping together, playing together, eating together, and performing at the Mullet Festival together, no one would be able to distinguish which child came from which group. Those kids lived what all Christians should — love and fellowship with others that doesn’t see color, social status, clothing, or ability. They just enjoyed being together and the special day. It was a really great example for us all of 1 John 3:18

Little children, let us not love in word or in tongue but in deed and in truth.

Prayerfully, we will all grow in this area and in so doing shine the light of Christ in a desperate world.

Leave a Reply

