Why don’t you make a difference?

I find that I really love writing after listening to Alistair Begg. His expounding on the Word always causes me to think and the best way to think is to write! This particular message was Can God Use Me? He used Timothy as an example of someone who shouldn’t be usable in ministry. Through Paul’s letter to him, we see that Timothy was young, timid, in poor health, and ashamed of the Gospel. The point of Alistair’s message was that by all rights, Timothy should not have been useful in ministry. Yet, Timothy was used mightily by God as the leader of the church in Ephesus! So what is your disqualification? Is it age (too young or too old)? Health? A spirit of fear? Shame?

For me, I think it’s a bit of both fear and shame. I would love to write and speak like the ladies that do the Women of Faith conferences. I even had a mentor many years ago that told me she expected to see me in a position like that one day. However, I hate microphones and groups of more than two! With that combination, why should I think that I would ever be given a platform to share any wisdom that the Lord has given me?!? Well, actually, that combination is probably exactly why He would do just that. Paul says that it is in our weakness that He is made strong. When we can’t do it, the only thing that we can do is to let God do it — then give Him the glory and honor due Him. It is when we think that we can do it that He gets left out of the equation.

My other big downfall is being ashamed. I’m not ashamed of the Gospel…




…most of the time. But then there are times that I hold my tongue and don’t share the Truth when the door is standing open right in front of me! Do I feel guilty for that shame? Sometimes. But I also know that God is Sovreign over all things. He knew that I would not speak or act in those situations and He will redeem it some other way, time, or place. 

 The joyous news is that God will complete the good work that He has begun in me (Phil. 1:6)! He will continue to grow my heart, soul, and character in grace and love so that I will one day overcome! What a great God!

So, what is your disqualification? What is it that keeps you from making a difference? It doesn’t have to be church related. Perhaps you have a way that you want to make a difference, but you don’t think that you can. Think again and go out with confidence (and perhaps an out of the box idea!).

Leave a Reply

